SKIP navigation
Aviation Institute
Aviation Institute

2012 Loening Trophy.

Congratulations to the UNO Aviation Institute on Receiving the 2012 Loening Trophy.

The Loening Trophy is a perpetual trophy presented annually to the outstanding all around collegiate aviation program in the nation. The Loening Trophy is the rarest and oldest of all collegiate aviation awards. The pure silver Tiffany designed trophy was commissioned and first awarded in 1929 when aviation pioneer and inventor, Dr. Grover Loening saw a need to annually recognize the most outstanding achievements of today’s college aviation programs. Dr. Loening (first aeronautical engineer for the Wright Brothers), asked his friends and famous pilots, Charles Lindbergh, Amelia Earhart, and Navy Commander John Towers to assist him in judging the first competition. The original Loening Trophy is still awarded today and is considered the most prestigious award at the annual SAFECON competition. The award not only represents superb achievement in aeronautical skills, but more importantly represents the current benchmark for an overall outstanding collegiate aviation program. Emphasis on academics, community involvement, aviation skills and their advancement, a comprehensive safety program, and professionalism, when combined with a pro-active enhancement of the future of aviation are keys for the selection of this award

Please join us at the 2012 Loening Trophy Presentation on Thursday, August 23, 2012 at 3:00 p.m. at the Thompson Alumni Center.


Untitled Document